Honesty


One of the great things about having a nearly-invisible blog that has no followers is that you can be honest about your thoughts and feelings without worrying about people coming down on you and making you feel like shit about it. In a way, it’s like you’re the only living person on an island in the middle of nowhere.

That said, here’s what I think. I think some people need to be honest with themselves about their reasons for calling me. They aren’t actually interested in me or my life; they’re just trying to butter me up before they say they “have a question” or they “ask a favor” of me [for clarity, the words in quotation marks are theirs].  Well, the buttering-up game was cute when we all were younger, but now it’s just annoying. So, stop it, already.

I have one relative who actually gets this concept. They don’t contact me unless they want something, and they don’t try to butter me up first. I love that. In fact, I find it quite refreshing. I wish everyone would be that way with me; knowing my true role in their lives would make my life simpler and much less stressful.

Be honest with the people in your life. Be honest with yourself. If you want something from someone you don’t really care about, have the courage and the decency to be honest about that – if not with them, then with yourself.

Share Your Thoughts

