Projections


It’s cold and raining and miserable, this morning. It’s been dreary and cool for what feels like forever and I am so, so tired of it. I feel like we’re in a time of extremes, right now: to me, it’s either really cold, or really hot – like there’s just no happy medium. But, it’s part of the transition from winter to spring. I get that. I don’t like it, but I get it.

My project closes out in ten days. I’m relieved and I’m happy, but I’m sad, too. Our client has been one of the most mind-bending challenges we’ve ever had, but they have also been the most rewarding. They’ve pushed us to do better, they’ve tested our limits and our patience over and over again, and they’ve driven us to do things we didn’t think were possible. Our client has impacted all of our lives in so many ways that I can’t even begin to describe how much we all have been changed for the better because of them. We’ve all fallen just a little in love with our client as a result, and we’re all going to miss them a great deal when the project closes.

This was a once-in-a-lifetime project. If another project comes along that’s like this one, someone else will have to take it on, because R. won’t allow me to get involved with another project like this one. My partner has been as supportive as possible, but this project has put a big strain on our relationship. R can’t cope with big changes, regardless of whether they’re temporary or permanent, and this project has definitely created a lot of really big changes. I understand R’s feelings – and honestly, I do look forward to things going back to a quieter pace. But, this project has given me something I didn’t realize I was missing. It has made me feel truly alive. I haven’t felt that way in a very long time.

None of us knows where work will go from here. We’re all in a kind of holding pattern, taking each day as it comes. In truth, I think we’re all feeling at a bit of a loss as to what to do now. But, things will get sorted out when our next client arrives. So, onward with the day I go…

Share Your Thoughts

