Howler


All I can say is, As often (or, I should say, as infrequently) as I write here, it’s a good thing I’m not running an online newsletter.

I don’t write here often because I’ve learned to be careful about what I say on formats like this. After all, this is the internet, and this is a public blog; anyone can see it. So, unless I want to stir some pots (I don’t), when big things are happening in my life, silence is the wiser choice.

That said, I got a call yesterday from an old friend I haven’t heard from in several years. I wasn’t home at the time he called, but what a treat it was to hear from him. I didn’t have a chance to return his call yesterday, so I’m going to call him back today. I’d love to sit down with him and his wife over coffee, but since we live a day’s travel away from each other, an in-person visit is out. So, we’re going to do it over the phone. It’s going to be great to catch up with them.

The wind is howling. It’s been howling since about 7 o’clock last night. It was so bad at one point that we expected to see several trees uprooted and lying on the ground. Our house was shook more than once, and we worried that our trees would end up tearing off sections of the roof or smashing through the windows. Fire and police departments were kept on their toes during the worst part of it; the sirens were so constant and so loud that R and I could hardly talk to each other without raising our voices – and we were inside. I can only imagine how much damage there is in our neighborhood; there are a lot of old poplars lining our streets.

Yesterday was blistering hot. So hot, in fact, that we had to keep the animals inside. Five minutes outside to do their business, and when they came back in, they were panting hard and hot to the touch. Today is supposed to be cooler, though, so if the wind eases up, we’ll get them outside so they can play in the pool and run around the yard, and just generally blow off some steam.

That’s all I have to say for now. I’ll be back… eventually…

Share Your Thoughts

